Free Scissors and Light Bulb

hair_cutting_kit.pngOne of my older neighbors moved away, leaving a huge pile of things on the curb in front of her house.  I took a look.  Saw a 1960s-era electric clippers hair-cutting set.  I didn’t see much point in taking it, as I already have one.  But it did contain a pair of scissors that were in very good condition.

There was also an old floor lamp, which I didn’t want, but it did have a light bulb in the socket.  I took the bulb home and it worked.  This isn’t the first time I’ve found working light bulbs in light fixtures that have been thrown away.  I lit my bathroom for years with fluorescent bulbs that were part of someone else’s built-in fixture that got put out with the trash when they were doing some bathroom remodeling.

Scissors and light bulb.  Together worth at least a few dollars.  Not bad for about 2 minutes work.  On an hourly basis, that’s around $100 per hour.  That’s why I keep my eyes open.

Leave a Reply

